Special Board Meeting:  Study Session

    with Washington State School Directors Association on July 13 - 3:00 pm


    Artificial Turf Field Being Installed at Bremerton High School's Memorial Field

    At our meeting on December 8, 2016, the School Board approved a contract with FieldTurf to convert our natural grass field at Memorial Stadium to artificial turf utilizing organic infill.  With funds available from the 2017-2019 Capital Levy which the community passed on February 9, 2016, the District has begun work on installing this new turf.  The project began almost immediately following our 2017 graduation ceremony to be ready for use in the 2017-2018 school year.  Lance McCoy, our long-time groundskeeper, who along with his crew took great care of the field for many years, was there along with our  Board and other honored guests for the sod-turning ceremony on June 19th.  While the old field has seen a lot of games and has served us well since 1978, we feel that the new turf will be beneficial in so many ways to our schools and community.  Thank you voters for helping to make this project possible. 



    Animated Video - Role of a School Board

    The role of the school board is frequently misunderstood by citizens.  And students often do not fully understand the impact that the Board may have on their future.  This animated video, which won an award in NSPRA's (National School Public Relations Association) 2016 Electronic Media competition, takes a crack at explaining the role of the Board to an elementary student.  Thanks to the Texas Assn. of School Boards for providing the leadership to explain the role of today's school board. 

    Our Board Officers for 2017
    Alyson Rotter, President and State Legislative Representative
    Carolynn Perkins, Vice-President and Federal Legislative Representative
    Jonee Dubos, Auditor
    Naomi Evans
    Dave Rubie, WIAA Representative

    Be Involved
    One of the best ways to stay informed of what's happening in public education in your community and to have a voice in it, is to attend a meeting of your local school board.  Our Board welcomes you at its meetings. If you would like to bring something to the attention of the directors, there is a public comment period at the beginning of each regular meeting where visitors may make presentations lasting up to three minutes. Provided near the entrance, you will find forms, “Request to Address The Board of Directors;” please complete this form and give to Ms. Cossack before the Board meeting if you wish to provide comments. You may also comment prior to Board action on any specific action agenda item, by simply raising your hand during Board discussion.  Comments on agenda items are also limited to three minutes. You may also write, email, or telephone your school board directors to make your opinions known. 

    Please note that discussions regarding individual staff or students are not appropriate for a public meeting. Please contact the Superintendent regarding these complaint procedures.

    2016-2017 Board Meeting Schedule
    The Board meets most first and third Thursday at 5:00 pm in the Board Room, District Administration Building, 134 Marion Ave. N.    Complete School Board Meeting Schedule

    Agendas, Minutes, and Other Information
    For agendas, minutes, and other information, please visit our BoardDocs website.  It is an easy site to navigate around.  Here are a few tips:

    • For information on individual Board members, visit the Welcome page, select Board Members on the left side. 
    • For current meeting informaton, select the "Information" tab, which displays current meeting agendas and materials.
    • For past meeting information, select the "Meetings" tab to scroll down through past meeting agendas and materials.
    • To view minutes, click on "View the Minutes" button on the right (available only after approval by the Board).
    • To view upcoming meeting schedules and planned study sessions, click on the "Library" tab, then General, then click on Schedules.

    If you have any questions or comments about BoardDocs, please contact Ioanna Cossack at ioanna.cossack@bremertonschools.org or call 360.473.1031.

Last Modified on July 14, 2017